About Myanmar

The Land

Now Myanmar, one of the biggest countries in South-East Asia with the total land area of 686577 sq km (677000 sq miles). Friendly stay around with neighboring countries, Bangladesh, India, China, Laos and Thailand has a 2832 km long coastline on the India Ocean. The Bay of Bengal and the Andaman Sea are on the south west.

In comparison with other Buddhist countries such as Srilanka, Tibet, China and Thailand, Myanmar has more pagodas and religious buildings. This is effect given deep meaning to the name "The Golden Land".

Myanmar comprises of 7 states and 7 divisions enumerated in Myanmar alphabetical order as below.

1. Kachin State
2. Kayah State
3. Kayin State
4. Chin State
5. Sagaing Division
6. Tanintharyi Division
7. Bago Division
8. Magway Division
9. Mandalay Division
10. Mon State
11. Rakkhine State
12. Yangon Division
13. Shan State
14. Ayeyarwaddy Division